Skip to content

The Itch to Pitch: The Rocky Road to Retrial

May 24, 2011

Fugitive theme, crica 1964.

So good, I’ve maimed it twice.

Rough first draft.

Just when Doctor Richard Kimble thought it was safe to show his stupid scruffy face anywhere near a cop again…

Now, under suspicion of running a red light, and hunted by the very same US Marshal who almost killed him and then sorta doubted himself and eventually decided that Kimble was probably innocent after all and hey let’s laugh this off together now I mean sure your wife’s dead and you were almost wrongly executed for it but hahahaaaaaaa it all worked out, Kimble has narrowly dodged the fickle grasp of law and order once more, and is fighting to prove his innocence, fighting to win his life back… and fighting for honour (specifically, the honour of an Academy award winning actress).

The Fugitive: Part II

Gerard’s secretary: Sam, there’s a guy on the phone claiming to be Richard Kimble.
[cast cackling in background that “another” Kimble is on the phone]
Deputy Gerard: This is Gerard.
Kimble: Do you remember what I told you in the sewer?
Deputy Gerard: [gesturing to his men to start tracing the call] Um yeah… It was noisy… I think you said something like you didn’t kill your wife.
Kimble: No, that wasn’t it! I said “I really love Ann Blyth!” Remember what you told me?
Deputy Gerard: I remember you pointing my gun at me.
[Gerard’s team gestures him not to antagonize Kimble and make the conversation stretch]
Kimble: You said, “I didn’t care for her roles in Qunicy and Murder She Wrote recently.”
Tracing Technician: [whispering] He’s on the south side.
Deputy Gerard: [to his team] Yeah…
[then noticing Kimbles remake]
Deputy Gerard: Yeah… that’s right, Richard… I didn’t care for them. They were beneath someone of her ability…
Kimble: Well, I guess you just know what’s best for everyone, don’t you?!
[slams down phone]

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 30, 2011 3:10 pm

    That is a super-peachy-keen post. Thanks for really blathering on like that! Seriously, I don’t think I could have spent more effort wishing for something heavy to fall on me to erase that nonsense from my mind!

Leave a Reply

